When I learn to sit, I will sit to learn.

It just came to me one fine day morning while going to college.

It says a lot. The main problem that we face today, especially this generation, is the problem of distraction. Concentrating on one thing is quite alien to us. Mobile phones being the main villain, music, friends and lack of dedication are the other factors that ruin us bit by bit (or byte by byte, as one of my friends put it).

We don’t know how to sit on something. To ready our mind for understanding the matter at hand. Of course, the first criticism I’m going to get is, “Still we get good marks”. That is totally irrelevant and stupid. I’m not even getting into the matter of scoring marks because you can really know the difference between data stored in a RAM and ROM. Also, you feel the difference when just simply talking with a person who knows what he is talking about. Me and one of my friends lately talked about the three kinds of people that we see around us. They are:

  1. One who knows and knows that he knows. He is wise. Follow him.
  2. One who knows not and knows that he knows not. He is simple. Teach him.
  3. One who knows not and knows not that he knows not. He is a fool. Shun him.

Getting back to the point, instead of us telling others or the elders telling their young ones to “sit and learn”, they must first teach them to “learn to sit”. Because only if we are going to sit dedicatedly can we learn something the way it should be learned.

We do hear stories of great people who read through a book just once and answer any question asked from within. It is because they know how to sit with concentration on what they are doing. People like us, who don’t know how to sit, well, need I elaborate our case?

Meditation, throwing away distractions and telling those who interrupt you to get lost in a nice way are the only ways through which we’re going to learn how to sit. Its not like the life of many hang in balance if you keep your phone switched off for a while. And if it is so, you really need to reconsider your life as a student.

Hoping you and I learn to sit soon do I hope wise people will walk on the face of Earth again.

2 thoughts on “When I learn to sit, I will sit to learn.

  1. One of my big problems was that it is hard for me to be still. I’m a highly kinestetic person. I learn stuff while doing them. So, I would be listening to a lecture at home while doing the dishes and stuff and I re-wind the lecture again and again, and then I can make notes out of it.

    I guess I’m number two person. I know nothing. But I would love to learn! (at least learn to focus :P)

Hey! What do you think? Share your thoughts. :)

