Now I know how Frodo felt. (DroidCon, hasGeek).

For those among you who have read Lord Of The Rings, you already know Frodo,the Hero. How his life’s destiny was entwined with ‘The Ring’.

It is all too familiar how The Ring came to be in Frodo’s hands and how he set out on his adventure with his friends that brought him to dangers and threats and new alliances. How the small Hobbit became the most important person in the world once he destroyed the terrible Ring that was the entire power of Sauron by throwing it into the engulfing flames of mount doom.

However, after the new and rightful King of Minas Tirith, Aragorn, had been restored back on his throne and all the men and elves had bowed deep in respect of Frodo and the three hobbits, when they four peacefully returned back to their Home, the Shire, things were not as expected.

To those who were in the Shire, these four Hobbits were just Frodo, Sam, Merry and Pippin. To them, these four hobbits were not saviors of the world, nor were they the ones who fought against the terrible Nazguls, nor were they the ones among the valiant soldiers who guarded Minas Tirith from the terrible wrath of Sauron. They were just four Hobbits.

Well…

Being back at Hostel after attending DriodCon and volunteering for it, I’m just the silly old Haris to everyone here. To them, I’m not the one who co-ordinated the speeches in the conference halls, nor was I the one who went around and made sure that all the volunteers were in their respective rooms, nor was I the one who was an important part who made Kiran’s dream of DroidCon come true.

But it was a lovely experience. There was no bossing around and there was no ‘watching over your shoulders’. You were allocated a venue and it was entirely your responsibility that things went smooth over there. And as such, all my fellow-volunteers whom I worked with, Vamsee, Royson, Ankita, Prakhar, Rasagy and the Main guys, wanted the event to be a success with all their hearts. There was no gain in it for any of them if the event was a success nor was there any blame on them if the whole thing got screwed. But still, they dedicatedly did a wonderful job and made the event a success!

Here is my wishes to hasGeek for conducting such a fantastic event and giving all those who were there an opportunity to be together and share their spirits.

Cheers!

11 thoughts on “Now I know how Frodo felt. (DroidCon, hasGeek).

  1. Frodo did go ahead and did some changes by fighting the locals for the betterment of the people in shire.

    Maybe you can along with your friends do such stuff for you hostel as well πŸ™‚

    Kudos for the great work !!!

  2. Hey Haris,
    While I hardly got time to interact with you, I loved your spirit & dedication. It’s great to see that you’re getting involved with such events from your college days!
    Don’t bother about what your friends think, I’m sure you’ll do greater things! πŸ˜‰
    Hope to catch up with you in the next hasgeek event!
    Enjoy!

    • Thanks for dropping by Rasagy! And thank you so much. I really was wondering if I was the youngest one at the conference. πŸ˜‰
      I too did not get much time to talk with you. But I’m sure before its too late we’ll meet again.
      Thank you again for the wish and I’m pretty sure you already have done great things. πŸ™‚

      Here is to the future!

  3. Hey Haris, this is beautiful beyond imagination! Thanks so much for sharing this. I am very touched. And please, can we have a meet-up when you are back in Bangalore? I had no chance to talk to you, except to take heart from your beatific smile! πŸ™‚ Soon, soon!

    • Thank you so much Zainab for taking your time to pay a visit to my small space on the net.
      And same goes for all the volunteers over there. Most of us could not get to know each other better. So I’d love to meet all of you and see where all of our thoughts stand. πŸ™‚

      Beatific smile? My brother’s was “elusive”, if I remember correct. πŸ˜‰ He he..
      Cheers!

  4. Pingback: The Fifth Elephant – Bonds made. | A 'psycho' path.

Hey! What do you think? Share your thoughts. :)